running right now

documenting my journey to healthy living

recap: week 1

sunday is supposed to be my weekly check-in day at the start of a new week – sorry!

anyways, on sunday i weighed in at 198.6, so i have made progress in my first week!

my food journal has been helping me assess my eating habits and get on track.  i was pretty good about planning out meals this week, which i usually do anyways because we are so busy with school and work, and i have gotten in the habit of prepping at least a few crock pots dinners each week.  here are a few of the recipes i tried out: corncakes with tomato and avocado and orange chicken.  sunday was easter and i cooked a fresh meal of baked pork chops, potato wedges, and sauteed spinach.  for dessert we had cherry pie – though not a healthy recipe, it is pretty standard at my family’s easter dinner table.  even though we spent easter on our own, i decided to make it, i had a tiny slice and enjoyed it ohsomuch.

working out this week was very consistent for me!  i walked with my law school friend L on two occasions, walked on my own a few times, and played a little tennis with my husband.  at the week 1 walking stage, i don’t really get tired, although i did feel a little soreness on friday after a few long walks and a day of chores!  i tried to exercise as frequently as possible this week, which i think helped kick things off to a good start and made up for a few eating mishaps (a yummy pasta dinner at brixx + drinks out in celebration of my bar results = a few more calories than i would have preferred).

challenges this week: temptations presented by easter candy that my wonderful husband bought for me (reese’s eggs and ferrero rocher, he knows me too well), rain which kept me inside on one of the days i had slated to walk, an achy knee (i used to have a pretty rough time with my knees when i played tennis in high school, but haven’t had difficulty with it since despite some periods of heavy working out, so i’m hoping that ice and stretching will keep it in check)

strengths this week: several good long walks at a pretty brisk pace, keeping it together despite said candy and dessert treats, finding healthy and yummy recipes (I ALMOST FORGOT, go make this yummy spinach and cream cheese mushroom appetizer right now!, another good recipe find which isn’t too bad on calories especially if you have just a couple), purchase of a reliable new scale with a wedding gift card we had not used (the $10 non-digital thing i’ve had for years wasn’t cutting it), finding a hilarious website to make me laugh a lot when i’m feeling grumpy (here is an appropriately themed one = me in near future).

well…that’s all folks.  full day tomorrow starting with my second run/walk of week 2.

M

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

